The most delicious appetizer. Ever.

I’m a BIG fan of appetizers.  And it’s now Appetizer Season, a.k.a. Football Season!  Looking for something new to try?  I’ve got a great one for you!  I discovered this dish of deliciousness last spring at a Taste of Home Show in Kearney, NE where I was working at a booth for CommonGround Nebraska.  The Nebraska Beef Council was handing out samples and I may, or may not, have made multiple stops at their booth.

So what do I call an appetizer this good?  Supper!   And it’s also called No-Noodle Lasagna Beef Dip.

IMG_9700

 

And even more good news – it’s a great way to use leftover roast beef!  I’m going to start from the very beginning… first you have to cook roast beef (or buy the packaged fully-cooked… but I guess I’m a little old-fashioned and like to do it the old way). Since we raise beef and have a freezer full of our own beef, our package looks a little different than you buy in the grocery store.  I happened to grab a rump roast, but any cut of roast is good.  I think the proper way is to thaw the meat prior to cooking… but I don’t normally plan that far in advance 🙂 so I just put it in the crock pot frozen, add a glass of water, and sprinkle our favorite meat spices on the top.  Oh – and don’t forget to turn the crock pot ON low.  Yes, I’ve made that mistake!

 

 

IMG_9668Cook on low for about 8 hours.  Then serve for a meal!  Or use it for this recipe if you’re afraid there won’t be any leftovers!IMG_9670

Use your leftovers (or about 1 lb of roast beef, or whatever you have), pull the beef apart so it’s shredded, and add 1 1/2 cups pasta sauce and 1 clove garlic (minced).   Spread 8 oz cream cheese (softened) into a 9 inch pie plate.  I mean really… what’s an appetizer/dip without cream cheese?!?!

IMG_9678

 

IMG_9687

I love using this garlic press… but you can use garlic in about whatever way works for you!  If I don’t have fresh garlic cloves, I just sprinkle some garlic powder or something like that.

Next, the recipe calls for 1/2 cup sliced green onions, which would be fantastic, if I had them.  But I didn’t, so I went without.

Spread the meat mixture over the cream cheese.  Then sprinkle with 2 T parmesan cheese (grated)

IMG_9689

IMG_9690

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  You could probably even do this in the crock pot.

Serve with crackers, toasted bread or chips.  Wait for the fans to cheer… never mind, their mouths will be full… at least until it’s gone!   To my surprise, one of my kids was not a big fan of this… which worked out well for the rest of us.  Let’s just say there was no concern with leftovers!

Find the official recipe here.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Great looking recipe.. Bet there wont be any leftovers in his house either. Wonderful job showing how you make it. wonder if this would work with venison.. I know….. support BEEF.
    Always look forward to seeing your next BLOG entry. Have a great harvest and fall.

Leave a Reply

